5th Year Senior Makes Final Start

Dylan Heiring has been a top starting pitcher for the Royals in his five years here, except for the 2013 season when he red-shirted due to Tommy John surgery. While he and the the Royals team may have struggled this year, Heiring ended his career the right way on Saturday. 

In game one of a double-header against the Ave Maria University Gyrenes, Heiring pitched a complete game, nine-inning shutout that saw him strikeout nine and only give up five hits. 

“I just had all my pitches working,” said Heiring. “I was able to move my fast ball up and down, in and out, and get strikeouts with my split and curveball when I needed them.” 

Before the game, Warner University honored Heiring and four other seniors for their dedication, on and off the field, to the Royal baseball team. 

While Heiring may have been a little emotional about Saturday being his final game for the Royals, he was excited about the gift bag he received during the ceremonies.

 “It was great to finally get my bag of candy, I’ve been waiting five long years for this. Look, they gave me a stamp too, that’s pretty cool, I guess.”

Leave a Reply

